FQS ISO/IEC 17020 Accreditation


FQS accredited the first law enforcement agencies in the Americas and in the United States to ISO/IEC 17020, the international standard for accreditation of various types of bodies that perform inspection.

FQS accreditation to ISO/IEC 17020 is based on an assessment of the agency against the requirements in the standard. The assessment covers the agency's procedures, technical qualifications, and competence for conducting specific testing activities within the scope of the standard.

FQS launched its ISO/IEC 17020 program for police forensic units in 2011. Previously, accrediting bodies in the United States accredited crime scene units to ISO/IEC 17025, the international standard for analytical testing laboratories. ISO/IEC 17020 is more appropriate for the forensic work performed by crime scene investigation units.

FQS offers flexible scoping and accreditation cycles covering two to five years, depending on the maturity of the management system. Accreditation is based on assessment of technical qualifications and competence for conducting specific activities within the scope of ISO/IEC 17020 and any relevant field-specific standards.

A certificate of accreditation is issued only when any nonconformities are resolved, assuring customers that you're truly in compliance.

An accreditation cycle includes the initial on-site assessment for accreditation and follow-up surveillance assessments until the end of the cycle, when a re-accreditation starts a new cycle. Accreditation cycles cover two to five years, allowing the lab to determine what's best for its operations.

After the initial accreditation process is completed, you'll receive your accreditation certificate within a few days. With other accreditors, you may wait six to twelve months but with FQS there is no extended waiting period.

FQS can provide a pre-assessment audit before the initial assessment to help you ensure you're ready for accreditation.
FQS is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing quality accreditation to the forensic community. We provide professionalism and excellent customer service!

ISO/IEC 17020 Accreditation Requirements

ISO/IEC 17020 Accreditation Application

ISO/IEC 17020 Accreditation Checklist

FQS Documents

Access Heads Ups
Access all issues of Heads Up
Latest news from FQS
Our Other Brands


ACLASS for accreditation of labs, inspection bodies, PT providers, and RMPs.


ANAB for accreditation of management system certification bodies.