FQS ISO/IEC 17025 Accreditation


FQS offers ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation for:

Crime scene investigation Latent print
Firearms Questioned documents
Police science in law enforcment agencies Digital evidence
Friction ridge Anthropology
Fire debris investigation DNA testing laboratories with FBI QAS
Crime laboratories Environmental testing laboratories
Animal drug testing laboratories Chemistry/toxicology laboratories
Blood alcohol calibration

FQS follows all international guidance documents related to ISO/IEC 17025 and uses ILAC G19 in its entirety. FQS accredited the first U.S. forensic testing agency in 1999 and the first forensic crime laboratory in 2001.

FQS has accredited more than 50 laboratories, including traditional crime labs and crime lab systems, medical examiner labs, animal drug testing labs, EPA labs, police crime scene labs, and other chemical testing labs. FQS provides scopes of accreditation in the full range of forensic disciplines, including drug chemistry, toxicology, blood alcohol, firearms, tool marks, latent prints, crime scene, DNA, biology, digital media evidence testing, trace, questioned documents, fire debris, and chemical testing.

We offer flexible scoping and accreditation cycles covering two to five years, depending on the maturity of the management system. Accreditation is based on assessment of technical qualifications and competence for conducting specific testing activities within the scope of ISO/IEC 17025 and any relevant field-specific standards included in amplification documents.
A certificate of accreditation is issued only when any nonconformities are resolved, assuring customers that you're truly in compliance.

An accreditation cycle includes the initial on-site assessment for accreditation and follow-up surveillance assessments until the end of the cycle, when a re-accreditation starts a new cycle. Accreditation cycles cover two to five years, allowing the lab to determine what's best for its operations.

After the initial accreditation process is completed, you'll receive your accreditation certificate within a few days. With other accreditors, you may wait six to twelve months but with FQS there is no extended waiting period.

FQS-accredited agencies must operate a proficiency test (PT) program, and FQS requires that wherever possible the program complies with ISO/IEC 17043. Successful completion of PT is monitored as a condition for continuing accreditation.

FQS can provide a pre-assessment audit before the initial assessment to help you ensure you're ready for accreditation.
FQS is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing quality accreditation to the forensic community. We provide professionalism and excellent customer service!

ISO/IEC 17025 Accreditation Requirements

ISO/IEC 17025 Accreditation Application

FQS Documents

Access Heads Ups
Access all issues of Heads Up
Latest news from FQS
Our Other Brands


ACLASS for accreditation of labs, inspection bodies, PT providers, and RMPs.


ANAB for accreditation of management system certification bodies.